How to Clean Your Android Before Selling or Changing Your Phone

If you are planning to replace your current cell phone with a newer model, a good option to strengthen your budget is to sell your device.

However, you need to be careful when erasing all your data. Which can be done in just a few steps through a factory reset. Check out how the process works below.

publicity

How to Reset Android to Factory Defaults

The tests below were carried out on a phone with Android 11, however, the steps are basically the same on almost all devices, changing slightly depending on the manufacturer and the version of the operating system.

Before you start, make sure that all your important data has been manually saved to another location or to the cloud. Know that once the reset process has started, there is no turning back!

Step 01: Access the ‘Settings’ application on your device (usually represented by the gear icon);

Step 02: then go to ‘System’ > ‘Advanced’ > ‘Reset Options’;

Step 03: Tap on the last option, ‘Clear all data’, which will reset the device to its factory settings.

On the next screen, you will see a menu with different options. The first one, ‘Reset Wi-Fi, Mobile Network and Bluetooth’ is useful for troubleshooting connectivity issues, for example. Image: Reproduction

Step 04: the next screen informs the user of everything that will be deleted. If you agree, confirm the request by tapping ‘Clear all data’.

Step 05: if you have a PIN code or fingerprint registered, the system will request the data for security before proceeding.

Step 06: Finally, on the last screen, tap ‘Clear all data’ again.

Ready! Note that the procedure may take a few minutes to complete. The phone will restart a few times and display the initial settings screen such as language, account, network, etc.

extra tips

If you have a Samsung phone, you may be asked for your Samsung account password before you can reset your phone. If the phone is running an older version of Android, less than 8.0, for example, the device may still ask for your Google credentials after the reboot process.

To avoid the problem, which can be a headache especially if you’ve already sold your phone, disable all security locks before resetting your phone. To do this, go to ‘Settings’ > ‘Security’ > ‘Screen lock’ and select ‘None’. Also delete your Google account in ‘Settings’ > ‘Accounts’ before starting the reset.

With information from The Verge.

Have you watched our new videos on YouTube? Subscribe to our channel!

Related Posts